Skip to content
Thornton-le-Dale: a North York Moors village guide

For exhibitors

Entering the Thornton-le-Dale Show

By Jon Cosson · Last checked

Most sections at the Thornton-le-Dale Show take entries in advance, with no entries on show day. The exceptions are the sheepdog trials, the pet dog show and the working terrier and lurcher show, which take entries on the day.

Several section pages on the Society's site are still headed 2026, and we mark those details below. Check the current section page before you enter. This is an independent guide; official details come from the Thornton-le-Dale Show and Sports Society.

Thornton le Dale show schedule: entries by section

Entries marked 2026 come from pages that have not yet been updated for 2027. Where a fee is not stated, the general rule is 10% of the first prize money.

  • Horse and pony

    How to enter
    Not yet published for 2027
    Entries on the day
    No
    Fee
    Not published
    Prizes
    Not published
    Judging
    Timetable to be confirmed
    Notes
    2027 classes coming soon
  • Livestock (cattle, sheep, pigs, goats)

    How to enter
    Online through Showing Scene, or paper entry form
    Entries on the day
    No
    Fee
    Not stated
    Prizes
    Not stated
    Judging
    Not stated
    Notes
    2026 details: the Showing Scene link is for the 2026 event
  • Rare and minority breeds

    How to enter
    Not yet published for 2027
    Entries on the day
    Not stated
    Fee
    Not published
    Prizes
    Not published
    Judging
    Not published
    Notes
    2027 classes to be confirmed
  • Sheepdog trials

    How to enter
    On show day
    Entries on the day
    Yes
    Fee
    Not published
    Prizes
    Not published
    Judging
    Not published
    Notes
    2027 details to be confirmed
  • Pet dog show

    How to enter
    On the day from 10am at Ring 5
    Entries on the day
    Yes
    Fee
    £1.00
    Prizes
    1st £5, 2nd £3, 3rd £1; rosettes; class winners get a bag of dog food from Burgess Pet Care
    Judging
    From 1pm; Group A 1.45pm; special classes 3.30pm
    Notes
    2026 details. Only one obedience class per dog
  • Working terrier and lurcher

    How to enter
    In the ring before judging
    Entries on the day
    Yes
    Fee
    £1.00 per class; child handler class free
    Prizes
    Rosettes to 3rd
    Judging
    6pm
    Notes
    2026 details
  • Vintage tractors

    How to enter
    Method not given
    Entries on the day
    No
    Fee
    £2.00
    Prizes
    1st £12, 2nd £8, 3rd £5
    Judging
    1pm
    Notes
    Tractors stay on the showground until 4pm
  • Ferrets

    How to enter
    Method not given
    Entries on the day
    No entries on the morning of the show
    Fee
    £1.00
    Prizes
    1st £3, 2nd £2, 3rd £1; rosette for every young handler under 16
    Judging
    Not published
    Notes
    Penned by 9.45am, stay until 4.30pm; one ferret per cage; bring your own cage
  • Fur and feather

    How to enter
    Showing Scene (new for 2027)
    Entries on the day
    No
    Fee
    Not published
    Prizes
    Not published
    Judging
    Not published
    Notes
    Entries not open yet
  • Produce, crafts and horticulture

    How to enter
    Online or postal (collect class cards in the main marquee on show morning), or in person at the Hill Institute
    Entries on the day
    No
    Fee
    Not stated
    Prizes
    Not stated
    Judging
    Not stated
    Notes
    Page gives "Monday 3rd August" for class cards, a 2026 date
  • Children's section

    How to enter
    Online or postal (collect class cards in the main marquee on show morning), or in person at the Hill Institute
    Entries on the day
    No
    Fee
    Not stated
    Prizes
    Not stated
    Judging
    Not stated
    Notes
    Class cards at the Hill Institute on Monday 2 August. School classes for Thornton Dale C of E Primary pupils only
  • Fancy dress parade

    How to enter
    Assemble on the Showfield at about 3.45pm
    Entries on the day
    Not stated
    Fee
    Free
    Prizes
    1st £2, 2nd £1.50, 3rd £1; 50p to others; rosettes for all
    Judging
    About 3.45pm
    Notes
    2026 details. Ages 3 and under, 4 to 6, 7 to 9
  • Evening sports

    How to enter
    Not stated
    Entries on the day
    Not stated
    Fee
    Classes 4 to 24 free; 440 yards race 30p
    Prizes
    Races 1st £1.50, 2nd 75p, 3rd 50p; 440 yards £5, £3, £2
    Judging
    About 5.15pm
    Notes
    2026 details

Produce and children's class card dates

For in-person entries at the Hill Institute, the children's page gives Monday 2 August, which matches 2027. The produce, crafts and horticulture page currently says "Monday 3rd August", which was a Monday in 2026, not 2027. Please check the correct date with the Society.

Key Thornton-le-Dale Show rules for exhibitors

These points come from the Society's General Regulations.

  • Entry fees are 10% of the first prize money unless stated otherwise.
  • Exhibits are admitted between 7.30am and 9.30am, and tent exhibits must be staged by 9.30am.
  • Protests must be made in writing within half an hour, with a £10 deposit.
  • Stock must have been owned by the exhibitor for at least 2 months.
  • Horticultural exhibits must have been grown by the exhibitor.
  • Tent class exhibitors paying £14.00 or more in fees receive one free wristband. Livestock and horse exhibitors receive two.
  • Livestock and equine exhibitors need public liability insurance and their own risk assessment.
  • Cheques are payable to Thornton-le-Dale Show & Sports Society.

Entering livestock and fur and feather online

Livestock entries have been taken through Showing Scene, and the link on the Society's page is still for the August 2026 event. Fur and feather moves to Showing Scene for the first time in 2027, though entries are not open yet. Paper forms and schedules are available on the Society's livestock page.

Related links

Common questions

Can I enter on show day?
Only for the sheepdog trials, the pet dog show and the working terrier and lurcher show. Other sections do not take entries on the day.
How do I enter livestock?
Through Showing Scene or a paper entry form from the Society's livestock page. The current link is for the 2026 event, so check for the 2027 version.
How much does it cost to enter?
Unless stated otherwise, the fee is 10% of the first prize money. The pet dog show and terrier classes were £1 in 2026 and vintage tractors are £2.
When must exhibits arrive?
Exhibits are admitted from 7.30am to 9.30am.
Do exhibitors get free entry?
Tent class exhibitors paying £14 or more in fees get one free wristband, and livestock and horse exhibitors get two.
How do I make a protest?
In writing within half an hour, with a £10 deposit.

Sources